Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Staff Highlight – Award Recipients

On Wednesday, July 19th, the Mission Award Winners were recognized for their accomplishments at the Staff Retreat. We are proud to celebrate everyone including our Clinical Award Winners, Rubie Herreta-Onate and Jessica Flores. See the full list of the award recipients and join us in congratulating them for their achievements!

  • Mission Awards:
    • Education Award Winners
      • Marleen Mendoza- Marleen takes a leadership role on many projects and is always willing to help a teammate. Marleen is committed to process improvement and has launched and managed a new way of managing exams and collecting curriculum management data. Marleen goes above and beyond to serve our faculty and students.
      • Michelle Fulbright– Michelle has gone above and beyond the call of duty multiple times. In terms of innovations, Michelle created several first looks in admissions to engage accepted applicants in showcasing UCRSOM strengths during the application cycle. Michelle takes the lead in providing any admissions data when requested and facilitates coordination of data transfer to Banner and Acuity to ensure compliance with internal and external agencies.
    • Research Award Winners
      • Angelica Bazan- Angelica has made significant contributions to the division as she works to administer all the travel arrangements for faculty and graduate students. She is always available to answer questions and troubleshoot travel expenses. Angelica takes the time to thoroughly explain procedures and policies. She always treats faculty, students, and colleagues with respect.
      • Kelsea Armstrong- Kelsea helped lead us in producing a very large U54 grant application that ultimately came to an approximately 800-page document. This was an incredibly impressive effort, which involved Kelsea organizing document preparation and collection across several SOM departments/faculty. The budget process alone was a remarkable iterative process that she was at the center of that ended up producing a tight refined budget that had multiple checks to ensure a clean overall budget with multiple units in the overall center proposal.
    • Clinical Award Winners
      • Rubie Herrera-Onate- Rubie is a hard worker with a passion for patient care. Her positive attitude and strong work ethic keep the clinic flowing. Patients love Rubie. I always look forward to the days when I work with Rubie in the clinic because I know things will move efficiently and that we will have fun!
      • Jessica Flores- Jessica is a great team player and has outstanding patient care. She is a great asset to the psychiatry department. Has helped the start of the Residency program every year to go as smoothly as possible. She worked through Covid Pandemic always willing to help. She has helped our patients through the MyChart transition in the clinic step by step with patience and a positive attitude. Always willing to help providers and her coworkers when we have any questions in the clinic.
    • Administration Award Winners
      • Kristen West- Kristen West has continued to be such an exceptional member of our team. She has been willing to create various procedures and do Zoom training with the roll out of our ServiceNow ticket system. She has been a mentor in training me how to submit a request and track orders in an effort to stay up to date. She always makes time in her busy schedule to meet with a Requestor to test, if they are receiving an error message. Despite the many technical difficulties she has faced, she has remained positive with a smile on her face.
      • Suzette Soto- Suzette Soto has consistently offered excellent communication and service to our team in the Center for Simulated Patient Care. She is always willing to go above her duties to support our team and recognizes how much her support strengthens our team. This year she has developed relationships with all of our team members and comes by regularly to “drop in” and make sure we’re doing all right. She solves issues with our software, SimCapture, and assists in our instructional needs efficiently and effectively.

Along with our Mission Award Winners, we would also like to highlight our Spring 2023 Star Award Winners and FY 2024 Dollars for Degree recipient:

  • Spring 2023 Star Award: 
    • Krystal Rivas (Clinical Affairs)
    • Daniel Sacriento (Clinical Affairs)
    • Soyeon Jin (Clinical Affairs)
    • Jini Farrell (Family Medicine)
    • Brandon Fajaro (Internal Medine)
    • Jovanna Hernandez (Internal Medicine)
    • Jessica Reyna (OB GYN)
    • Sophira Ceron (OB GYN)
    • Meng Jia (Pediatrics)
    • Amber Reich (Pediatrics)
    • Edgar Gutierrez (Psychiatry/Neuroscience)
    • Christine Hollis-Nist (Psychiatry/Neuroscience)
    • Margarita Monge (Psychiatry/Neuroscience)
    • Katherine Mendoza-Fruge (Psychiatry/Neuroscience)
  • FY 2024 Dollars for Degree Recipient:
    • Danielle Bowers (Clinical Affairs)

Additional Information:

Notice of Privacy Practices

This site uses cookies to improve your experiences. Dismiss to continue or click to learn more about our Notice of Privacy Practices.

Learn More
Important Update for Patients with Anthem Blue Cross Health Insurance Plans